Nachtmann Appointed to Endowed Chair

Photo of Heather NachtmannHeather Nachtmann, Associate Dean for Research, Professor and Director of MarTREC, was recently appointed to the Earl J. and Lillian P. Dyess Endowed Chair in Engineering.

Nachtmann has been with the College of Engineering since 2000, starting as an Assistant Professor in the Industrial Engineering Department. Her service and research has brought her significant accolades throughout her tenure with the College, most recently the 2018 Wellington Award from the Institute of Industrial and Systems Engineers (IISE). The Wellington Award recognizes outstanding long-term contributions and service in the field of engineering economy that enhance the visibility of the Engineering Economy Division of IISE.

In 2013, she led efforts to secure $4.2 million in funding from the U.S. Department of Transportation (USDOT) to create the Maritime Transportation Research and Education Center (MarTREC) to increase economic competiveness through efficient, resilient and sustainable transportation systems on U.S. navigable waterways ( The consortium received an additional grant in fall 2016 for an anticipated $7.5M from USDOT to be acknowledged as the Nation’s premier source for expertise on maritime and multimodal transportation research and education. As a result of this external research funding, the office of the Provost and Chancellor for Academic Affairs at the University of Arkansas recognized Nachtmann as one of the “Top 15 of 2015 and 2016.”

She holds the title of Fellow in the American Society for Engineering Management and the Institute of Industrial and Systems Engineers.

Her recent service includes: President and Past President of the American Society for Engineering Management, Advisory Council for Transportation Research for the Arkansas Department of Transportation, Engineering Research Council Member for the American Society for Engineering Education, Co-Editor-in-Chief of the Engineering Management Journal, and an Associate Editor of The Engineering Economist.