The Women’s Giving Circle recently awarded a record $130,000

Nine University Programs Were Recipients of the Gift

Chancellor G. David Gearhart, left, and Women’s Giving Circle President Melissa Werner, right, present a check to the Arkansas Teacher Corps Fellows, represented by Benton Brown and
Dean Tom Smith from the College of Education and Health Professions.

The group has provided more than $750,000 in support to the campus community since its creation in 2002. The Women’s Giving Circle also surpassed Chancellor G. David Gearhart’s 2012 challenge to increase membership to 100 by reaching 104 members on Sept.1.

The Women’s Giving Circle is made up of alumni, faculty, staff and friends of the university and was created to encourage women as philanthropic leaders. The circle raises funds in part by requiring annual cash gifts from its members. The annual gift requirement is $1,000 for alumnae or friends and $500 for recent graduates, students, faculty and staff.

This year’s grant recipients were chosen from more than 50 proposals through an annual online vote and voting event that included Women’s Giving Circle members hearing presentations from the finalists. The amounts of the nine awards given out this year ranged from $1,588 to $30,000.

 “The Women’s Giving Circle continues to be a very important philanthropic organization at the University of Arkansas,” Chancellor G. David Gearhart said. “Funding from the circle touches every part of campus by directly impacting the work of our own faculty and staff, and the resulting programs and research serve as outreach to the entire state. It is a pleasure to support them and encourage their growth.”

Of the programs that received awards was Dr. Shengfan Zhang, an assistant of Industrial Engineer, and Dr. Kristen Jozkowski, an assistant professor in Health, Human Performance and Recreation, who received $17,887 for their Personalized HPV (Human Papillomavirus) Vaccination Program.

Because the Women’s Giving Circle met the challenge made by Chancellor Gearhart in 2012, the circle received an additional $50,000 donation toward their total giving pool. Reflecting on their accomplishment, the chancellor made the surprise announcement to contribute another $50,000 to the circle if membership could be increased to 125 by September 2014.

“We are inspired and delighted by this new challenge,” said Melissa Werner, president of the Women’s Giving Circle. “Our group has developed an incredible amount of momentum over the last year, and we are eager to recruit even more talented, thoughtful and philanthropic women to join us. Giving back to the university becomes even more meaningful when you see how the donations are making a difference.”

The Women’s Giving Circle was established by founding members of the Women and Philanthropy Committee of the Campaign for the Twenty-First Century and included Pat Cooper, Mary Trimble Maier (B.A. 1949), Julia Peck Mobley (B.S.E. 1965), Harriett Phillips (B.A. 1972), Debbie Walker, Lynne Walton (B.A. 1970), Mary Lib White and Donna Axum Whitworth (B.A. 1966, M.A. 1969).

To see the other award recipients and the full story here.

Release date: 10/2/2013